The minimum wage is an important issue that needs to be taken seriously when choosing jobs. In simple terms, the minimum wage is the lowest salary an employee earns for performing a specific position during a given time. The primary purpose of minimum wage is to prevent wage discrimination and uphold workers' rights.
In 1938, the United States federal government first adopted the minimum wage concept in the Fair Labor Standards Act. Every company in the United States has to comply with the minimum wage structure set by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). But due to increasing prices and inflation, the workers' minimum wage is readjusted by Congress every year.
Apart from federal law, every US state has a judiciary system that sets a specific minimum wage for that state. But in terms of minimum wage, Oklahoma differs from the rest of the states. In this article, you'll get a complete picture of Oklahoma's minimum wage along with some useful details.
What is the Minimum Wage in Oklahoma?
According to theOklahoma Department of Labor, the current minimum wage in Oklahoma in 2023 is $7.25 per hour. Oklahoma's minimum wage has remained the same for over a decade. The last adjustment of this state's minimum wage was in 2008. Furthermore, Oklahoma's judiciary system strictly follows the United States federal minimum wage rate, so if the federal minimum wage rate increases or decreases, the minimum wage in Oklahoma will also change.
1. Oklahoma’s Weekly Minimum Wage
With a minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour, if you work for 40 hours per week, you’ll get a minimum wage of $290.00 per week.
2. Oklahoma’s Overtime Minimum Wage
Oklahoma doesn't have any specific laws on overtime minimum wage. But theFair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) rules can also be applied in Oklahoma. According to federal law, organizations have to pay their employees at least 1.5 times the basic hourly rate for all the extra work hours. So, the minimum overtime wage in Oklahoma is one and half times $7.25, which is $10.88 per hour. Overtime is often calculated based on weekly working hours, so a worker has to complete the 40-hour workweek to be eligible for overtime.
3. Oklahoma’s Tipped Minimum Wage
Oklahoma's tipped minimum wage stands at $3.63 per hour, which is 50% of the standard minimum wage rate. The tipped minimum wage applies to those employees who get additional tips during their working hours in places such as bars, hotels, and restaurants. But the employers have to ensure that an employee's total tip received and tipped wages equal Oklahoma's minimum wage.
4. Oklahoma’s Student Minimum Wage
According to federal law, working students studying in school or college should get 85% of the minimum wage rate. So Oklahoma's student minimum wage is set to be $6.16 per hour.
5. Oklahoma’s Under 20 Minimum Wage
The law states that new employees under 20 should get a minimum wage of $4.25 per hour for the first three months. After 90 days, the employees should be paid equal to Oklahoma's minimum wage rate.
How is Oklahoma’s Minimum Wage Different from the Federal Minimum Wage?
There is no difference between Oklahoma's minimum wage rate and the US federal minimum wage rate. Currently, the federal minimum wage rate stands at $7.25 per week which is the same as the minimum wage rate in Oklahoma.
Who Qualifies for Minimum Wage?
According to Oklahoma's Department of Labor, any adult who falls under the " employee " category has the right to be paid according to the minimum wage rule. But there are some specific workers who should not be considered employees; hence, the minimum wage rule is not applicable. Their salaries can be negotiated contractually or hourly without the restriction of minimum wage law.
These workers include:
- People who work on farms or ranches; can also be a mechanic.
- A housekeeper or maid
- People who work in the federal government
- A volunteer who works in various nonprofit organizations such as churches, or charities.
- A newspaper carrier
- A worker who works on railroads
- Someone who has already received a salary on par with the federal minimum wage.
- People who are working as executives and professionals who have administrative jobs
- Any temporary worker with a working hour of fewer than 25 hours per week.
- Workers below 18 years old who have yet to graduate from school
- People who work in feed stores
- A reserve deputy sheriff
Historical Change of Minimum Wage in Oklahoma
After analyzing the pattern of Oklahoma's minimum wage through different years, it was found that the wage rate has stayed the same since 2008. In 2008, the minimum wage rate went up from $6.55 to $7.25, with a growth of $0.70. In 2007, Oklahoma's minimum wage was $5.85 which also had a similar increase in the wage rate.
Below, you can see the minimum wage history of Oklahoma over the years since 2002.
Minimum Wage per Hour
July 1, 2023
July 1, 2022
July 1, 2021
July 1, 2020
July 1, 2019
July 1, 2018
July 1, 2017
July 1, 2016
July 1, 2015
July 1, 2014
July 1, 2013
July 1, 2012
July 1, 2011
July 1, 2010
July 1, 2009
July 1, 2008
July 1, 2007
July 1, 2006
July 1, 2005
July 1, 2004
July 1, 2003
July 1, 2002
1. How much can I earn yearly in Oklahoma?
According to Oklahoma's Department of Law, you'll be getting a minimum of $7.25 per hour for working in Oklahoma. Similarly, if you complete 40 working hours per week for 52 weeks, you'll earn a minimum of $15,080.00 per year.
2. Will the Minimum Wage change in Oklahoma in future?
As of now, there is no official announcement about an adjustment in the current minimum wage in Oklahoma. Oklahoma's Department of Labor evaluates inflations and other factors yearly to decide whether the minimum wage should increase or remain the same. But any change in Oklahoma's minimum wage will also depend on federal law. It's because Oklahoma sets its minimum wage rate based on the federal minimum wage rate. But it should be noted that this state's minimum wage rate has remained the same since 2008.
3. Does every company in Oklahoma have to comply with the Minimum Wage Rule?
No, not all businesses fall under the minimum wage law in Oklahoma. If a company generates gross sales of at least $100,000.00 annually and has at least ten full-time employees, that company has to follow the minimum wage in Oklahoma. On the other hand, if a company fails to make $100,000.00 annually or has less than ten employees, the minimum wage rule will not apply.