The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration enforces and administers the minimum wage laws in Ohio. According to the rules, in 2023 the minimum wage is $10.10 per hour for non-tipped employees. However, the trainees and tipped wage earners will earn $5.05 per hour.
The minimum wage is the amount of money a company or employer pays its employees as a value of their labor for a certain period. To preserve the rights of the minimum wage earners in the United States of America, the Federal and State governments have set a minimum limit that employers all over the country must maintain.
Every State of the USA ensures that the working population can overcome poverty. The legally mandated wage floor per hour is the amount the employer cannot reduce by any means, whether a contract or collective agreement. Moreover, it also provides equality of remuneration regardless of gender, age, race, nationality, and social status.
What is the Minimum Wage in Ohio?
The fact that the state Ohio minimum wage rate for 2023 is $10.10 does not guarantee that each individual in Ohio would be charged this pay scale; there are a few alternatives to this legislation.
According to the latest upgrade, the Department of Commerce of the State of Ohio categorized the minimum salary into several categories. They are as follows:
1. Non-Tipped/Regular employees
According to The Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration, in 2023 the minimum wage in Ohio is $10.10 an hour for mid and big-business-sized workers. If the Gross yearly sales of the company are less than $342,000, the company must pay the lowest minimum wage set by Federal law, which is $7.25.
2. Tipped employees
‘Tipped employees’ term usually describes business owners who receive more than $30 as a tip from their customers.
The Ohio Department of Commerce states that this type of employment in Ohio earns a tipped minimum wage of $5.05 per hour. It is because when merged with earned tips, the total compensation amount must be equal to the state minimum wage of $10.10. However, it is the employer’s responsibility to compensate for any difference.
3. Subminimum wage
It is also known as the training wage, and the present rate in Ohio is $4.25.
Employers can pay employees aged 16 to 19 a subminimum wage for the first 90 working days of employment under theFair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
After 90 days, however, the firms should pay their workers, at the very least, the standard minimum wage rate of $10.10.
Suppose you wonder how much you’ll get paid after a week or work overtime. In that case, they are:
4. Ohio Weekly Minimum Wage
Typically, the standard work time for any organization or business is 40 hours a week. Depending on the category,
Your weekly minimum wage in Ohio will be as follows:
- Non-Tipped/Regular worker: With a base salary of $10.10 hourly, you will receive $80.8 daily for 8 hours and $404 weekly for 40 hours.
- For small businesses: Even if the company is small, the employer has to pay you the Federal minimum pay, which is $7.25 hourly. So, you’ll have $58 daily and $290 weekly.
- Tipped employees: Same as a non-tipped worker in total.
- Trainees: Although the base $4.25 per hour salary might seem insufficient, it is low because they are not allowed to perform a few tasks and are inexperienced. So, they can earn $34 daily and $170 weekly.
5. Ohio Overtime Minimum Wage
It is also required that the employer pay close attention and legal wage for the additional time a laborer works for a corporation. The state of Ohio requires that an individual get 1.5 times the employee's base wage rate for every extra hour worked after 40 hours in a week.
The overtime wage is applicable for companies that earn over $150,000 per year.
How is Ohio Minimum Wage Different from the Federal Minimum Wage?
According to Federal Law, a worker's minimum wage in every state should not drop below $7.25 per hour. Only the President's signature or an act of Congress can change the law.
However, every year on January 01, the State and Minimum wage increase.
Even so, workers living in Ohio work for one of the lowest wages in the United States. The current minimum wage in Ohio is only $2.85 higher than the national rate.
The federal minimum wage law is strict about the higher payment than the federal payment, not a penny less than that. It was why every state had to pay more than the federal wage.
Similarly, the tipped employees are entitled to receive $5.05 per hour if she receives equal or over $30 a month.
Who Qualifies for Minimum Wage?
According to the National Occupational Employment and Wage Statement, some lowest paying jobs are as follows. People who work daily or weekly qualify for minimum wages.
- Laundry and dry-cleaning workers
- Fishing, Farming, and forestry occupants
- Fast food preparation and service
- Maintenance occupations
- Farmworkers and laborers
- Cafeteria attendants
- Housekeeping and maids
- Packaging workers
- Sewing machine operators
- Personal care aides
- Childcare workers
- Desk clerks
Taxi drivers, Salaried employees in administration, executive, and corporate offices, farm workers, and outside salespersons are exempt from the minimum wage under the Federal FLSA regulations.
Historical Change of Minimum Wage in Ohio
The Constitutional Amendment (II-34a), approved by Ohio voters in November 2006, stipulates that the state's minimum wage would rise by the inflation rate on January 1 of each year.
The state's lowest pay permitted by law is linked to the Consumer Price Index (CPI-W) for workers and urban wage earners for the 12 months preceding September. From September 1, 2021, to August 31, 2022, the CPI-W index grew by 8.7%.
The most frequent modifications in Ohio's minimum wage happened in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022. Over those four years, the most substantial increase came in 2022, when it grew by a 5.7% increase or 50 cents per hour.
Minimum Wage Per Hour
January 1, 2023
January 1, 2022
January 1, 2021
January 1, 2020
January 1, 2019
January 1, 2018
January 1, 2017
January 1, 2016
January 1, 2015
January 1, 2014
January 1, 2013
January 1, 2012
January 1, 2011
January 1, 2010
January 1, 2009
January 1, 2008
1. Is Ohio Going to a $15 Minimum Wage?
No. Although protests and petitions are ongoing, Attorney General Dave Yost has recently rejected a petition to raise $15 an hour. It will be increased annually.
2. What Is a Livable Salary in Ohio?
For an adult living alone, the living wage is $15.61, and for a family of two children, it is $34.83. The state of Ohio minimum law is higher than the Federal wage and poverty-wage rate. However, it is still lower than the cost of living.
3. What Is the Highest Salary in Ohio?
With an entry-level wage of $156,000, the highest-paid job position in Ohio is Consultant and sales representative.