The minimum wage is the lowest amount of money an employer can lawfully pay an employee. In the early 20th century, minimum wage legislation was enacted in most countries to guarantee basic protections for workers.
Depending on whom you ask, the minimum wage in each country may be tailored solely to its workforce. However, the main point is that even within the same country, it may vary from state to state.
Information about the minimum wage in Florida and related topics inspired this piece. Read on if you are interested in learning about Florida's minimum wage here.
What is the Minimum Wage in Florida?
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity mandates that the minimum wage in Florida would be $11 per hour by the end of September 2022. This minimum wage applies to all nonexempt workers within the state who works as service providers or in any positions in the food, medical or retail industry, with notable exceptions that include the workers who work in any student job or tipped business.
Unless an employee works in an exempt job, the state of federal laws determines that it is one’s right to get paid the minimum wage of $11 by the employers of any organization.
So, currently in 2023, the minimum wage in Florida is $11.
What is the Minimum Wage For Tipper Employees in Florida?
Moreover, in Florida, the minimum wage for tipped workers is $7.98 per hour.
What is theSubminimum Wage in Florida?
Employers must pay workers under 20 at least $4.25 per hour. These terms are effective for the first 90 days of employment.
Students working full-time in the service sector, agriculture, or educational institutions can receive up to 85% of the federal minimum wage if they qualify.
Certification is required before a company can hire a full-time student. In terms of hours, a full-time student can work up to 20 per week.
What is Weekly Minimum Wage in Florida?
The week-based minimum wage in Florida is 440$, which includes working 40 hours a week. If an employee works more than 40 hours a week, he will be paid a minimum wage of 1.5 times the regular one.
What is the Minimum Wage for Overtime in Florida?
If an employee works more than 40 hours per week, they are eligible for a minimum wage that is at least 1.5 times higher than the regular minimum wage that is in effect in their state. It is a requirement in several states that employees who work more than a certain number of hours in a day be eligible for this overtime rate.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires that all FL employees be paid the appropriate amount of overtime for all overtime hours that are counted toward meeting the overtime threshold. You have the option to make a claim with Florida for unpaid overtime.
How are Florida Laws Different From the Federal Laws?
Currently, the minimum wage for all workers in Florida is $11 per hour, and according to the federal minimum wage, it’s 7.25$ per hour. So, compared to the Federal Minimum wage, the state minimum wage is 3.75$ higher than the existing one. Moreover, the federal minimum wage for tipped employees is set at 2.13$, whereas the state minimum wage is 7.98$ per hour for tipped employees in Florida.
Florida's labor laws have no mandated meal periods for workers above the age of 18. It means that businesses in Florida aren't obligated to provide lunch breaks to their staff under federal law.
Florida law mandates all state departments and agencies to observe specified legal and religious holidays off with pay. If any holidays mentioned above are on a Saturday, the Friday before will be observed as a holiday. A holiday that falls on a Sunday will be observed the following Monday.
If an employee is selected to be on a jury in Florida, they are entitled to time off from work. On the other hand, full-time workers cannot expect to be compensated for serving on a jury for the first three days.
In contrast, during the first three days of jury duty, non-regular (part-time) employees receive $15 per day.
History of Minimum Wage in Florida
The table below shows the changes in the inflation rate in Florida's minimum wage. By following the table, you can find the increases in the minimum wage and the inflation rate for each year from 2000 to September 2022.
Federal Minimum Wage
State Minimum Wage
Changes of State Minimum Wage
Who is Exempt From Receiving Minimum Wage?
By the Fair Labor Standards Act, the following employees are exempt from receiving the State Minimum wage, including
- Employees that receive tips
- Sales Employees that are not from this state
- Workers working in admin earning $684 weekly
- Artists and pros earning $684 weekly
- Employees that earn at least $107,432 yearly
- IT employees earning $684 weekly
- IT employees earning $27.63 hourly
1. Do Employees have any laws to protect them in Florida?
People in Florida have legal protections against harassment and discrimination in the workplace and during the hiring process. Because of this, it is against the law to discriminate against someone based on age, sex, color, national origin, pregnancy, disability, or marital status in terms of employment, limits, segregation, or classification.
2. Do Minorities receive any Special Treatment in the Workplace in Florida?
Employers in Florida are permitted to "provide favors" to applicants who are members of specific religious organizations or educational institutions for positions related to those organizations.
3. What are HIV Testing Laws in Florida?
Unless the job position poses a danger of transmitting the illness while doing work-related activities, an employer has no right to ask a candidate to undergo an HIV-related examination during recruiting. Likewise, if the HIV tests come back positive, employers cannot exclude them from consideration for jobs unless doing so poses an unacceptable danger of HIV transmission.
4. What are Drug Testing Laws in Workplaces in Florida?
In Florida, no law requires companies to conduct drug or alcohol tests on their workers or potential hires. But to guarantee a drug- and alcohol-free workplace, an employer may require employees to undergo random drug tests. The company has 60 days to give written notice to the applicant before the test. An applicant's refusal to take the test or a subsequent positive result could lead to dismissal from consideration by the company.